The Škofja Loka Museum's ethnological collections illustrate the life of peasants and townspeople in the area of Škofja Loka before industrialisation. The presented smoke kitchen, collections on architecture, agriculture, animal husbandry, food, transport, beekeeping and national costumes give museum visitors an insight into the everyday life, as well as the local holidays and festivals, while the handicraft collections present lacemaking, sieve making, millinery, comb making, linen making, dyeing and printing, as well as the making of the so-called "little breads" and artificial flowers.
For curious minds:
- Škofja Loka was the very first town in the historical region of Carniola to boast electric street lighting. It was introduced on 3 August 1894, when forty light bulbs were lit around the town. The electricity was supplied from the power station of Krenner's Cloth Factory, which operated on the premises of the present-day Šešir Hat Factory in Škofja Loka.
- The comb maker's trade is said to have been brought to the area of Škofja Loka by people from Tolmin and Vipava in the first half of the 18th century. In 1758, the town of Škofja Loka boasted six comb makers, whereof one was an owner-occupier, while the rest were tenants. In the first half of the 19th century, six comb-maker's workshops operated in the town and its vicinity; three of them were in the town itself and three were in the neighbouring village of Puštal. At a later time, it was the Puštal-based comb makers who were the key representatives of the comb-maker's trade.
- In this area, flax growing and linen making used to be widespread, as evidenced by feudal dues listed in the rent rolls dating back to the 12th century and later. In the 18th century, Škofja Loka was the regional linen-making centre. At that time, there were twenty-one weavers in the town itself and no fewer than 374 weavers in the rural area surrounding the town.